SMS Athletic Information and Dates to Remember

Sports Tryout Dates
Posted on 08/03/2020
Yellow Jacket LogoSpringfield Middle School
Athletic Department
2020-202 Important Dates to Remember

In accordance with Mayor Vogel’s Robertson County mask mandate and the rising number of COVID 19 cases, these restrictions will be in place as of Monday, July 13th:

Masks will be worn by coaches and players in confined areas such as weight rooms and locker rooms where social distancing is not feasible.
Coaches should wear masks when instruction is done within six feet of student-athletes, inside or outside.
Players that are not involved in practice should maintain social distancing and/or wear a protective mask, inside or outside.
Group size will be 25 members (this includes a coach and players) inside and outside.
Social distancing will be stressed and adhered to inside and outside.
Temperature checks and screenings will continue.
Hand washing and social distancing is encouraged.


These restrictions will be in place until further notice. Remember these addendums to our RTA plan are investments in the hopeful return of interscholastic competition for the fall.


**** Football conditioning and tryouts have been moved to July 20 ****


Sport Date Time & Location
Baseball February TBD
Softball July 27&28  3:00 - 5:00 SMS Gym
Volleyball July 13  SMS Gym
Basketball (Boys) August 810:00-1:00 (SMS Gym)
Basketball (Girls) Aug 22, 24-25 9:00 - 11:30 (SMS Gym)
Cheer July 20- 22 9:00 - 11:00
Football July 20  8:00 – 10:00
*Parent Meeting TBA TBA
Wrestling TBA TBA

Reminders-
All student athletes MUST have a physical to participate.
Springfield Middle School HIGHLY recommends that all student athletes wanting to participate attend the free Physicals.

NorthCrest Hospital will offer free physicals on June 1 through July 31. Click here for more Information

Contacts for SMS Athletics

Eric Weisner Athletic Director eric.weisner@rcstn.net
Vic White Girls’ Basketball vic.white@rcstn.net
Kathie Williams Cheer kathie.williams@rcstn.net
Jill Reeves Wrestling jill.reeves@rcstn.net
Jordan Osborne Cross Country josborne@robertsonchamber.org
Sarah Wood Cross Country woodsarah4@gmail.com
Jared Cumberbatch Baseball jared.cumberbatch@rcstn.net
Jessica Frye Softball jessica.frye@rcstn.net
Brittany Collins Volleyball brittany.collins@rcstn.net
Nick Roberson Boys’ Basketball nick.roberson@rcstn.net
Chason Rippy Football chason.rippy@rcstn.net
  • 715 5th Ave W, Springfield, TN 37172
  • 615 384 4821
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.